Paleo(ish!) Dark Chocolate and Cherry Brownies

brownies 2After a few weeks firmly off the paleo-wagon, I’m ready to feel good again and get back to eating well. I finally got round to experimenting with some Paleo baking this weekend. I love having something in a tin I can pull out for when guests drop in over the weekend and it’s even better if I can eat it too!

I tried some scone and brownie recipes. The scones failed miserably and tasted pretty much like crap so it’s back to the drawing board on that one and I won’t inflict them on you here. However, I think I nailed an awesome brownie recipe which I’d like to share with you today! There are plenty of recipes for Sweet-Potato Brownies online and this is my version. I love fruit with dark chocolate so I’ve added some dark cherries to this but you could really add any dried unsweetened fruit you like. Give it a try and let me know if you like them!

Paleo Dark Chocolate and Cherry Brownies
Makes 15-18

Ingredients
•2 small sweet potatoes
•3 eggs, beaten
•50g coconut oil, melted
•100g raw honey
•3.5 tablespoons coconut flour
•2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
•80g dark chocolate (min 80%), chopped (or chocolate chips)
•60g unsweetened dried cherries
•0.25 teaspoon baking powder
•0.5 teaspoon vanilla extract
•0.5 teaspoon cinnamon
•pinch of salt

Brownies before the oven!

Brownies before the oven!

Instructions
1.Preheat oven to 200oC.
2.Bake sweet potatoes for 30 mins.
3.Remove and turn oven down to 180oC.
4.Peel sweet potatoes and mash in a bowl.
5.Add eggs, coconut oil, honey and vanilla to the sweet potato and mix.
6.Combine coconut flour, cocoa, chocolate, cherries, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Then add to sweet potato and mix well.
7.Pour batter into a lined baking tray.
8.Bake for 30-35 minutes.
9.Allow to cool and cut into squares
10.Eat those bad boys up (but try not to eat the whole batch in one go)!

Brownies after the oven!

Brownies after the oven!

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

