Belly-Friendly Banana Bread

I grew up in a house where weekends meant pancakes or homemade scones for breakfast. I love waking up to the smell of baking in the house. Many Paleo enthusiasts frown at the idea of Paleo baking as the end product is not exactly a nutritionally dense meal and as such doesn’t hold up to the core Paleo principles. While I was fully on board with this for the Whole30, I will never be a ‘food for fuel’ kind of girl! I enjoy food; the flavours, the textures, the making, the sharing and the eating! So, I fully intend to explore the world of Paleo treats. Some will say I may as well just eat gluten, dairy and sugar filled treats if a treat is what I want, but I tend to disagree. I want to be able to eat something nice with a cup of tea on a Sunday morning and not feel bloated and crampy for the rest of the day. And after a day of non-Paleo treats yesterday, that’s exactly how I did feel. So maybe this banana bread won’t be the most nutritious thing you’ll ever eat, but it will be more nutritious than white flour scones and I promise you won’t feel rubbish after eating it!

Belly-Friendly Banana Bread

I made this particular recipe for the first time last year and after experimenting a little with proportions of almond and coconut flour, I think I have it down! I added organic dark chocolate chips but you could add some chopped walnuts or raisins if you prefer.

image

Ingredients
70grams Almond Flour
25grams Coconut Flour
3/4 tspn of baking soda
1/2 tspn of sea salt
2 tablespoons of coconut oil or butter
3 eggs
2 ripe bananas
60mls organic pure maple syrup
75grms organic dark chocolate chips

Instructions
1. Preheat your oven to 180oC.
2. Mix all the dry ingredients together.
3. Mix all the wet ingredients together.
4. Blend the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients using an electric mixer.
5. Line a loaf tin with baking parchment and oil or butter it.
6. Pour in batter and bake for approx 30-35mins or until golden brown and a skewer inserted into the middle of the loaf comes out clean.
7. Leave to cool on a wire wrack.

This is yummy eaten while still warm or toasted with a little butter. The nut flour makes it very filling and calorific so you only need a small slice.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

